2021 Higginbotham Leadership Awards Program Journal. Click here to download.

Host and Distinguished Honorees

Damon Hewitt

President and Executive Director, Lawyers Committee For Civil Rights Under Law


Laura Coates

CNN Legal Analyst and SiriusXM Talk Show Host


Soldedad O'Brien

Award Winning Journalist and CEO, Startfish Media Group


Award Recipients

Hon. Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General


Renee Montgomery

Two-Time WNBA Champion, Atlanta Dream Vice President and Part-Owner


Brian Moynihan

Chairman of the Board and CEO, Bank of America


Hon. Stacey Plaskett

U.S. Representative Virgin Islands


Kevin Warren

Commissioner, Big Ten Conference


Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights

Fight for Justice and Equal Opportunity

About Us

The principal mission of the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law is to secure equal justice for all through the rule of law, targeting in particular the inequities confronting African Americans and other racial and ethnic minorities. The Lawyers' Committee is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization, formed in 1963 at the request of President John F. Kennedy to enlist the private bar's leadership and resources in combating racial discrimination and the resulting inequality of opportunity – work that continues to be vital today.


Stay up-to-date on the latest civil rights news.

* Required information